Press Releases

    7 communist terrorists yield to troops in Zambo Sibugay

    Headquarters Western Mindanao Command, Camp Navarro, Calarian, Zamboanga City- September 27, 2017
    Seven communist terrorists surrendered to the Joint Task Force ZamPeLan in Zamboanga Sibugay yesterday (September 27).

    Said NPA members were identified as Henry Bawan Becsala, a.k.a. Natoy; Benbin Gumandag Mandaw, a.k.a. Lito; Mario Oksik Maghanaoy, a.k.a. Rex; Lauravel Obaran Niadas, a.k.a. Maribel; Villa Neadas, a.k.a. Sandra; Marcelino Gumangay Lavares, a.k.a. Ruben; and Joseph Gumangay Lavarez, a.k.a. Michael.
    The communist terrorists yielded to the troops of the 102nd Brigade, 1st Infantry Division, Philippine at the headquarters in Barangay Sanito, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay at 6am yesterday.
    Becsala, Mandaw, and Maghanaoy turned-over two AK47 rifles and a Caliber .45 Remington.
    "This recent surrender is a result of the combined intelligence and combat operations being launched by our troops on the ground to employ more pressure and compel the communist terrorists to lay down their arms,” said Major General Rolando Joselito Bautista, commander of the Joint Task Force ZamPeLan.
    "There is an ongoing facilitation on the resolution of two surrendered NPA members, and the CLIP benefits will be done after this will be resolved.”
    The surrendered members are currently undergoing custodial debriefing.
    "The Joint Task Force ZamPeLan, in collaboration with the local government units, continues to sustain the pressure on the communist terrorists operating in Zamboanga Peninsula,” said Lieutenant General Carlito G. Galvez, Jr., commander of the Western Mindanao Command.
    “I congratulate the JTF ZamPeLan, under the leadership of Major General Bautista, for its laudable efforts to clear the region from the presence of communist terrorists,” he added.

    © 2017 Philippine Army. All Rights Reserved. Designed By NETCENTER Web Team